Photo Blog: The Shores of Manila


“We are tied to the ocean. And when we go back to the sea, whether it is to sail or to watch – we are going back from whence we came.”
–John F. Kennedy

 

The Famed Manila Sunset

 “Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky.” —Rabindranath Tagore


A Solitary Night at the Harbour Square

“Look how the pale queen of the silent night
Doth cause the ocean to attend upon her….” –Charles Best

 

Love one another, but make not a bond of love: Let it rather be a moving sea between the shores of your souls. —Kahlil Gabran

Manila! Manila! I’ve taken you for granted this thirty years. And now that you no longer cradle me in your nest, I see your vast beauty through someone else’s eyes. I walk along familiar thoroughfares with new light, new surprises waiting for me in every corner.  It dawned on me, that all this years, you hid a path of beauty behind controversy, political issues, struggle, crime and tragic events. Then again, each day that you unveil your beauty, new hope floats. Manila, thank you for the memories!

(All photos courtesy of my friends Moshi Ramos and Bryan Maño)

6 thoughts on “Photo Blog: The Shores of Manila

    • Thanks! You are right. Sometimes you just have to distance yourself to truly appreciate what you’ve always been used to seeing. I guess sometimes I miss the beauty of Manila at night – the many lights you see from skyscrapers. It’s convenient living there where stores & restaurants are still open even in the wee hours. I’m just 2 hours drive away, but people don’t stay up late here. But then again, I can’t imagine going back and leaving my “normal”, quiet life here. Haha! :)

      • There is much to be enjoyed with a “quiet life” that the city can’t offer. :) I moved the the city when I was fresh out of college. Didn’t take me long to realize I wanted just a little bit slower pace of life. :)

      • True that! I grew up in a city. It’s like living in a fast lane. You don’t realize your life is moving so fast until it’s too late. Although sometimes I miss the fast pace. Though, I don’t think I ever want to go back living that kind of life. Like you, I like it here too much. :)

Leave a Reply

