A Promise to a Friend

I promised a friend that I’ll feature his shots in my blog. Making up for that promise was not easy only because the choosing was hard. I had to pick which are the best and are my favorite. Albeit a beginner, I glimpse a promise in some of his shots of a soon to be great photographer. A few more photo-walk and fun-shoots would give him that winning photo I know I would be first to brag. I may be bias, but I admire him for pursuing a dream.

My friend Moshi, crouched down and in action.

I hope he won’t be intimidated by some of the great photographers out there who already made a name for themselves. I hope he takes it as a challenge instead – an inspiration to continue his work and make it better with each shots. Like I always tell him, it’s not about the gadget, but the eyes that see the beauty of the world. A camera is only a tool that enables you to capture what you see in front of you that most people fail to see. You have to have the eye for it. You snap a shot at reality, capture a story in it, and then present it like a dream. That for me, is what makes a great photo. I fancy pictures that speak to me a myriad of thoughts. It’s not the effects, not the editing, but the story, the charm, the emotion behind each picture one can capture. A great photographer makes you see familiar places as if you are seeing it for the first time.

I would love to be a part of his progress and encourage him to travel more, to take pictures of different locations in our country, and people from provinces with different practices. But, I admit that is not the only reason for this blog. My hope is for my fellow bloggers to get to know my country a little through photos I post. For we may be a small country, a “third world country” (as we we’re referenced), but with people who have hearts bigger than our islands. And, islands far richer and more beautiful than our hearts could ever speak of.

Beauty can be seen in all things, seeing and composing the beauty is what separates the snapshot from the photograph.” – Matt Hardy

:)

Leave a Reply

